The story behind the Vauxhall crest 0
Vauxhall’s iconic griffin was first used by a mercenary soldier by the name of Fulks le Breant as his coat of arms. Fulks was granted the Manor of Luton by King John in the 13th century and he was given a house in Lambeth, London which he called ‘Fulks hall’. Over time, the name morphed into ‘Vauxhall’ and was adopted as the official name of the the district by the Thames where the hall once stood.
Vauxhall Ironworks later adopted the griffin in 1857 as its logo and decided to keep it in 1903 when it evolved into the car giant we know today.